Call for Nominations for Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar 2024

New Delhi, Jan 15, 2024: The Government of India has announced the “Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar 2024”! It’s all about recognizing scientists, technologists, and innovators who have made outstanding contributions in the fields of Science, Technology, and Innovation.

Government has invited nominations and applications for the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar! That means you can nominate yourself or someone you know who has done something incredible in the world of science, technology, or innovation. You can even nominate a whole team of scientists or researchers!

Categories of Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar

There are four categories of awards that will be given out:

  1. Vigyan Ratna (VR): This is a special award for lifetime achievements and contributions in the field of Science and Technology. Only three people will receive this prestigious award.
  2. Vigyan Shri (VS): This award is for people who have made distinguished contributions in the field of Science and Technology. A total of 25 people will be honored with this award.
  3. Vigyan Yuva: Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (VY-SSB) award: This award is for young scientists who have made exceptional contributions in the field of Science and Technology. Again, 25 people will receive this award.
  4. Vigyan Team (VT) award: This award is for teams of three or more scientists, researchers, or innovators who have made an exceptional contribution in the field of Science and Technology. Up to three teams will be recognized.

Domains of Awards

There are 13 different domains in which the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar will be given. These include Physics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Mathematics & Computer Science, Earth Science, Medicine, Engineering Sciences, Agricultural Science, Environmental Science, Technology & Innovation, Atomic Energy, Space Science and Technology, and Others. So many amazing fields to choose from!

How to Apply

If you’re interested in applying or nominating someone, you can visit the Award Portal of the Ministry of Home Affairs. Just go to and follow the instructions. The nominations will be open from January 14th, 2024 to February 28th, 2024. Make sure to check out the general guidelines and details on the awards portal.

Important Dates

Mark your calendars! The winners of the awards will be announced on May 11th, 2024, which is National Technology Day. And the Award Ceremony, where all the winners will be celebrated, will take place on August 23rd, 2024, which is National Space Day. It’s going to be a day full of excitement and inspiration!

So, get ready to celebrate the incredible scientists, technologists, and innovators who are making a difference in the world. Start thinking about who you want to nominate or maybe even consider applying yourself. Let’s show the world the amazing talent we have in India!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *