New Rules Take Effect in June, Impacting Driving Licenses, Aadhaar Cards, and More

New Delhi, May 29, 2024 – As June approaches, several important changes to regulations will come into effect across India. These modifications will impact various aspects of daily life, making it crucial for residents to stay informed.

Driving License Reforms

The Ministry of Road Transport and Highways has announced significant updates to the process of obtaining a driving license. Starting June 1st, individuals can take their driving tests at authorized private driving schools instead of relying solely on Regional Transport Offices (RTOs). These accredited institutions will be empowered to conduct driving tests and issue certificates that qualify applicants for licenses, eliminating the need for additional testing at RTOs.

The new regulations also aim to address environmental concerns by phasing out roughly 900,000 older government vehicles and implementing stricter car emission standards. While speeding fines remain within the range of ₹1,000 to ₹2,000, stricter penalties now apply to minors caught driving. These include a hefty fine of ₹25,000, potential repercussions for the vehicle owner (including cancellation of the registration card), and disqualification for the minor from obtaining a license until the age of 25.

Aadhaar Card Updates

For those planning to update their Aadhaar cards, the deadline is June 14th. Fortunately, users can conveniently update their information online. However, opting for offline updates will incur a fee of ₹50 per update.

LPG Cylinder Prices

As is customary, LPG cylinder prices are revised on the first day of each month. Oil companies will establish new prices for gas cylinders on June 1st. Following reductions in commercial cylinder prices during May, there’s a possibility of further price decreases for cylinders in June. Additionally, similar to every month, adjustments to petrol and diesel prices are expected on June 1st.

Bank Holidays in June

According to the Reserve Bank of India’s (RBI) bank holiday list, banks will be closed for 10 days in June. These closures include Sundays, the second and fourth Saturdays, and other holidays like Raja Sankranti and Eid-ul-Adha. Therefore, it’s advisable to check the bank holiday schedule before planning a bank visit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *