Phase 6 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Delhi and Key Constituencies Go to Polls Today

Voting for the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2024 is underway in 58 constituencies across six states and two union territories, including all seven seats in Delhi, on Saturday, May 25. The voting under phase 6 of the Lok Sabha polls is also being conducted in the Jangal Mahal region in West Bengal. The polling began at 7 am and will conclude at 6 pm.

Polling has already been completed on 428 parliamentary constituencies for 25 states and UTs in the first five phases of the general elections 2024. Simultaneously, polling is being held for 42 assembly constituencies in Odisha.

1. States and UTs Going to Polls in Phase 6 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024: In addition to the seven seats in Delhi, polling is being held in 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, all 10 seats in Haryana, eight seats each in Bihar and West Bengal, six seats in Odisha, four seats in Jharkhand, and one seat in Jammu and Kashmir.

2. Eligible Voters in Phase 6 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024: More than 11.13 crore voters – 5.84 crore male, 5.29 crore female, and 5,120 third gender – are eligible to exercise their franchise. The Election Commission of India (EC) has deployed around 11.4 lakh polling officials at 1.14 lakh polling stations.

3. Number of Candidates Contesting in Phase 6 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024: A total of 889 candidates are contesting in the penultimate phase of the Lok Sabha elections across 58 seats.

4. Key Candidates in Phase 6 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Prominent candidates include Union ministers Dharmendra Pradhan, Rao Inderjit Singh, and Krishan Pal Gurjar, BJP’s Maneka Gandhi, Sambit Patra, Manohar Lal Khattar, Manoj Tiwari, Abhijit Gangopadhyay, Bansuri Swaraj, PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti, Deepender Singh Hooda, Raj Babbar, and Kanhaiya Kumar of the Congress.

5. Key Constituencies in Phase 6 of 2024 Lok Sabha Polls: Some of the key constituencies in the sixth phase include Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, Allahabad, Domariyaganj, Azamgarh, and Jaunpur in Uttar Pradesh; Gurugram, Faridabad, Hisar, Sirsa, Kurukshetra, and Rohtak in Haryana; Tamluk, Kanthi, Medinipur, and Bishnupur in West Bengal; Paschim Champaran, Purvi Champaran, Sheohar, Vaishali, and Siwan in Bihar; Chandni Chowk, North East Delhi, New Delhi, and South Delhi in Delhi; Sambalpur, Puri, Cuttack, and Bhubaneswar in Odisha; Ranchi and Jamshedpur in Jharkhand; and Anantnag–Rajouri in Jammu and Kashmir.

6. Security Arrangements for Phase 6 of 2024 Lok Sabha Polls: The Election Commission of India has deployed 20 special trains to ferry security personnel. Additionally, 184 observers, 2,222 flying squads, 2295 static surveillance teams, 819 video surveillance teams, and 569 video viewing teams are keeping surveillance to ensure fair polling.

7. Weather Prediction for Delhi on May 25: The India Meteorological Department has issued a ‘yellow’ alert for Saturday, predicting a maximum temperature of 44 degrees Celsius and a minimum of 31 degrees Celsius in Delhi.

8. Voter Turnouts in Previous Phases of Lok Sabha Polls 2024: The fifth phase saw a voter turnout of 62.2%, the fourth phase recorded 69.16%, the third phase saw 65.68%, and the second phase had a turnout of 66.71%.

9. Key Points from Phase 6 Voting in Various States: In West Bengal, voting is critical for the BJP, especially in south Bengal. In Delhi, AAP and Congress have fielded joint candidates against the BJP. Uttar Pradesh witnesses high-profile battles in Sultanpur, Azamgarh, and Jaunpur. In Odisha, prominent contests include Sambalpur and Puri. Haryana sees former CM Manohar Lal Khattar contesting against Congress’ Divyanshu Budhiraja.

10. Number of Seats Going to Polls in the Final Phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024: The Lok Sabha elections will conclude on June 1 after the seventh phase, with voters from 57 constituencies exercising their franchise. Results will be declared on June 4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *