Breaking NewsNational

Pitbulls, Rottweilers Among 23 Dog Breeds Banned in India 

New Delhi: In response to a rise in pet dog attacks, the central government has directed states to enforce a ban on the sale and breeding of 23 dog breeds deemed potentially dangerous.

The directive, issued to states and union territories, prohibits ownership of these 23 breeds as pets. The Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying (DAHD) received appeals from citizens, animal welfare organizations, and forums urging a ban on specific dog breeds for pet ownership.

An expert panel identified 23 breeds, including mixed varieties, as posing a threat to public safety.

The list includes Pitbull Terriers, American Bulldogs, Rottweilers, Mastiffs, and breeds like Tosa Inu, Fila Brasileiro, Dogo Argentino, Boerboel, Kangal, Central Asian Shepherd Dogs, and Caucasian Shepherd Dogs.

“Following expert recommendations, these dog breeds, including crossbreeds, will be prohibited for import, breeding, sale as pets, and other purposes,” stated the letter quoting the panel’s report.

The directive further mandates sterilization of existing pets belonging to these breeds to prevent further breeding.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *