Results in Four States on Sunday as BJP, Congress Face Crucial Electoral Test Ahead of General Elections

New Delhi, Dec 2: Results in four states will be announced on Sunday as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress face a crucial electoral test ahead of the general elections.

The counting of votes will take place in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana. These elections are seen as a semi-final contest before the general elections in less than six months.

In Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh, the Congress and the BJP are in a direct competition, while the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) led by K Chandrashekhar Rao hopes for a hat-trick in Telangana.

Exit polls have shown mixed results, with some predicting a BJP lead in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, and Congress having an advantage in Telangana and Chhattisgarh.

The counting will begin at 8 am with postal ballots, and tight security measures have been put in place. Only individuals with valid passes will be allowed to enter the counting centers.

The Congress aims to win Madhya Pradesh and Telangana and retain power in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, which will strengthen their position in the opposition alliance against the BJP in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

The BJP, on the other hand, seeks to replicate its winning streak in Gujarat by winning Madhya Pradesh and regaining power in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

Union Minister Anurag Thakur expressed confidence in the BJP’s governance and stated that the people want the BJP government. There have been reports of parties swiftly herding their winning candidates to prevent poaching.

However, Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister D K Shivakumar dismissed these reports and stated that no MLAs will be going anywhere.

In Madhya Pradesh, there are 230 assembly seats, and candidates include Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and his predecessor Kamal Nath.

In Rajasthan, over 1800 candidates are in the fray for 199 seats.

Chhattisgarh has 90 seats, and tight security arrangements have been made in all counting centers.

Telangana has 119 seats, and there are 2,290 contestants in the fray.

The results of these elections will have significant implications for the upcoming general elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *