Rohit Shines in India’s Dominant 7-Wicket Win Against Pakistan

Ahmedabad, Oct 14. Skipper Rohit Sharma led the way with a brilliant 86 runs off 63 balls as India secured a convincing seven-wicket win over Pakistan in a highly anticipated World Cup clash on Saturday.

This victory marked India’s third consecutive win in the tournament, while Pakistan suffered their first defeat after winning their first two matches. It also extended India’s winning streak against Pakistan in World Cups to eight, dating back to 1992.

The Indian bowlers performed exceptionally well, dismissing Pakistan for a mere 191 runs after Rohit elected to field first.

With Rohit’s outstanding innings, India successfully chased down the target in just 30.3 overs at a packed Narendra Modi Stadium.

The fast-bowling trio of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Hardik Pandya each claimed two wickets. Spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja also made valuable contributions, taking two wickets each as Pakistan was bowled out in 42.5 overs.

Pakistan’s captain, Babar Azam, top-scored for his team with 50 runs off 58 balls, while Mohammad Rizwan made 49 runs off 69 balls. However, from a comfortable position of 155 for two, Pakistan suffered a dramatic collapse and were all out for 191.

Final scores: Pakistan: 191 all out in 42.5 overs (Babar Azam 50, Mohammad Rizwan 49; Jasprit Bumrah 2/19, Mohammed Siraj 2/50, Kuldeep Yadav 2/35, Ravindra Jadeja 2/38) lost to India: 192/3 in 30.3 overs (Rohit Sharma 86, Shreyas Iyer 53 not out) by 7 wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *