Youngest MPs Elected to Lok Sabha in 2024 Elections

In the aftermath of the Lok Sabha elections, at least four candidates have emerged as the youngest members of Parliament (MPs), all aged 25. Pushpendra Saroj and Priya Saroj contested on the Samajwadi Party’s ticket, while Shambhavi Choudhary and Sanjana Jatav were fielded by the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and the Congress, respectively.

Meet The 4 Youngest MPs

Shambhavi Choudhary

Shambhavi Choudhary, daughter of Ashok Choudhary, a minister in the Nitish Kumar cabinet in Bihar, secured victory from the Samastipur constituency. She comfortably defeated her nearest rival, Sunny Hazari of the Congress. Prime Minister Narendra Modi had earlier commended Shambhavi as the youngest NDA candidate during a campaign rally.

Sanjana Jatav

Sanjana Jatav clinched victory from the Bharatpur constituency in Rajasthan by defeating BJP’s Ramswaroop Koli by a margin of 51,983 votes. Despite a previous loss in the 2023 Assembly elections, Sanjana emerged triumphant this time. She is married to Kaptan Singh, a Rajasthan police constable.

Pushpendra and Priya Saroj

Pushpendra Saroj contested as a SP candidate from the Kaushambi parliamentary seat, previously held by the BJP. He secured victory by defeating sitting BJP MP Vinod Kumar Sonkar by a margin of 103,944 votes. Pushpendra is the son of five-time MLA and former Uttar Pradesh Minister Inderjit Saroj. Priya Saroj emerged victorious from the Machhlishahr seat, defeating sitting BJP MP Bholanath by a margin of 35,850 votes. She is the daughter of three-time MP Toofani Saroj.

These young MPs signify a new wave of leadership in Indian politics, bringing fresh perspectives and energy to the forefront of governance. Their victories reflect the evolving dynamics of democracy and the aspirations of India’s youth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *